Several Hunter Safety Courses Scheduled For Next Few Weeks
If you've got a youngster who's ready for the thrill of hunting or you've never taken the Louisiana Hunter Safety Course and desire a Louisiana Hunting license, several of these classes have been scheduled in the coming weeks in the Shreveport/Bossier area.
In case you're wondering just who's required to take the course, here's what the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries says.
Every hunter is encouraged to take hunter education. However, Louisiana law requires all hunters born on or after September 1, 1969 receive Hunter Education Certification from a Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries approved course prior to hunting in Louisiana unless they are under direct supervision of a qualified person.
For supervision purposes, a qualified person is a Louisiana licensed hunter born before September 1, 1969, or a person 18 years of age or older who has proof of Hunter Education Certification from an approved course. Direct supervision means the supervising person is in direct line of sight and within normal voice contact of the hunter they are supervising.
The minimum age for Hunter Education Certification in Louisiana is 10 years old. However, it is required 10 and 11 year-olds be supervised while hunting, even if they have received Hunter Education Certification. Youth younger than 10 years old may take the course, but they are not eligible to be certified and will have to retake the course to obtain certification when they reach 10 years of age or older.
Though the Hunter Education course can be taken online HERE, those brand new to hunting would greatly benefit from the classroom environment and ALL hunters are required to attend a "Field Day" to finish the training.
Here's a look at a few of the classes that will be available in the coming weeks.