Stay Safe & Legal: Firework Laws & Tips For Shreveport-Bossier
As you get set to ring in the New Year, Shreveport and Bossier City officials want to remind you to please, do it safely. Especially when it involves fireworks.
There is some good news. In a ranking of fireworks injuries by state by Allegiant Fire Protection, Louisiana does very well. Out of the 50 states, Louisiana comes in at number 48, just above Alaska and Hawaii. The top five states are South Dakota, Nebraska, Wisconsin, Iowa, and Michigan, in that order.
Bossier City officials reminds residents to enjoy fireworks safely, and offers a few safety tips.
- Young children should never be given fireworks to handle alone. Responsible adult supervision is a must.
- Always purchase fireworks from an established and reputable retail outlet.
- Never shoot, aim or throw fireworks at people or animals.
Bossier City’s fireworks ordinance allows fireworks to be sold and set off within the city limits from December 23rd through January 1st between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. The exception is on New Year’s Eve when fireworks may be discharged until 12:30 a.m. If you discharge fireworks outside those designated dates and times, you could be subject to fines of up to $500 or up to 60 days in jail.
In Shreveport, fireworks, excluding bottle rockets and sky rockets, may be sold and discharged within the city limits during designated times of the year only. These times are:
Noon June 25 to 10 p.m. July 5, except for the hours of 10 p.m. and 8 a.m.
Noon December 15 to 10 p.m. January 1, except for the hours of 10 p.m. and 8 a.m. on all days except New Year's Eve when fireworks may be sold and discharged until 1 a.m. January 1.
New Year's Events in Shreveport Bossier
11 Things That Are Technically Legal In Louisiana