Bruno Mars has been added to the list of performers on the MTV Video Music Awards where he will premiere his new single from the "Unorthodox Jukebox" album.

Also added to the roster are red-hot rap duo Macklemore & Ryan Lewis who will perform their current hit "Same Love". They're tied with Justin Timberlake for the most nominations this year with six each.

Other performers include Timberlake, Miley Cyrus, Lady Gaga, Kanye West, Katy Perry and Robin Thicke.

The MTV Video Music Awards, originating for the first time from the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, will air August 25 at 8 p.m. (CT)