Brace yourselves, Now That's What I Call Music! is fifty volumes old. Shall we take a look back at the first album?

Now That's What I Call Music! is releasing their 50th album this month. It features song like Katy Perry's "Dark Horse", John Legend's "All of Me", and Pharrell Williams "Happy."\

The American version of Now began in 1998. The UK started the trend in 1983.

Do you remember the first Now album that came out in the U.S.?

Here is the track list for the very first Now album:

No. Title Artist Length
1. "Together Again" Janet Jackson 5:01
2. "As Long as You Love Me" Backstreet Boys 3:32
3. "The Way" Fastball 4:16
4. "Flagpole Sitta" Harvey Danger 3:35
5. "Say You'll Be There" Spice Girls 3:56
6. "All My Life" K-Ci & JoJo 5:31
7. "Never Ever" (Single Edit) All Saints 4:46
8. "If You Could Only See" Tonic 4:21
9. "Mmmbop" Hanson 4:27
10. "Zoot Suit Riot" Cherry Poppin' Daddies 3:53
11. "Shorty (You Keep Playin' with My Mind)" Imajin 4:54
12. "Anytime" Brian McKnight 4:31
13. "Barbie Girl" Aqua 3:16
14. "Karma Police" Radiohead 4:30
15. "I Will Buy You a New Life" Everclear 3:58
16. "Fly Away" Lenny Kravitz 3:41
17. "Sex & Candy" Marcy Playground 2:52


I don't know about you... But I would still buy the the first volume today!