Just two seasons into the Shreveport Mudbugs’ tenure in the NAHL, they have won the Robertson Cup.

Tonight, the Mudbugs took the ice in Blaine, Minnesota with the entire season on the line. One game. Sixty minutes. The Robertson Cup hanging in the balance.

The Mudbugs were up for the challenge in their first two semi-finals games, winning both of them and giving themselves a valuable rest day on Sunday ahead of the championship game Monday night.

Tonight, the Bugs started a little slow, giving up a goal in the first period and going down 1-0 with two periods to go. However, once the second period started, it was all Mudbugs until the final buzzer. The second period gave the Mudbugs their first goal of the night, scored by Brendan VanSweeden. At the end of the second period, the game was tied 1-1.

The third period was intense, to say the least. About mid-way through the period, Captain Dominic Procopio fired a shot at the net, which was then tipped by Cole Quissenberry and then found the twine. Bugs would hold their 2-1 lead until the final buzzer.

The Shreveport Mudbugs are your 2017-2018 NAHL Robertson Cup champions!


More From K945, The Hit Music Channel