Louisiana’s COVID-19 Hazard Pay Will Be on a ‘First-Come, First-Served’ Basis
Louisiana has only one more signature to get before $50 million in COVID-19 Hazard pay is made available for essential workers who have put their health at risk during the pandemic. However, the money will be distributed on a first-come, first-served basis.
The hazard pay act has passed the Louisiana legislature, and only needs the governor’s signature to begin the process of giving $250 checks to essential workers as a result of the federal CARES ACT.
KLFY.com reports that to qualify, you must have performed essential work between March 22 and May 14, make less than $50K a year, and must have worked a minimum 200 hours during the pandemic.
However, you will need to apply to hopefully receive the hazard pay, and the money will be distributed on a first-come, first-served basis.
From KLFY.com -
Applications are anticipated to launch July 15 and close October 31 on the Lousiana Dept. of Revenue’s website, but more money could be approved down the line.